Home > China-New Zealand Relations > Science & Technology
The 2017 New Zealand - China Scientist Exchange Programme Launching Ceremony held in Wellington

On May 9, 2017,the 2017 New Zealand - China Scientist Exchange Programme Launching Ceremony was held at the Royal Society of New Zealand (RSNZ). RSNZ Chief Executive, Dr Andrew Cleland; the Manager of the International Science Partnerships of the New Zealand Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, Ms Karla Falloon; and the Head of the Science and Technology Section of the Chinese Embassy in New Zealand, Ren Hongbo, attended the ceremony and delivered speeches. Following the launch, 10 young scientists selected by China will commence their research at the Crown Research Institutes, the University of Auckland, Massey University and other research institutions for a 4-6 week period.

The science and technology authorities of China and New Zealand signed the Agreement for a New Zealand - China Scientist Exchange Programme in February 2009. Under the Agreement, 5 outstanding young scientists are selected by each country every year to engage in research work in the other country's research institutions. The Agreement was renewed in April 2013, and the number of visiting scholars from each side increased to 5-10 people per year. As the end of 2016, the two sides had funded a total of 108 exchange scientists, laying a solid foundation for the enhancement of understanding between scientists of the two countries, and the establishment and consolidation of long-term cooperation in the field of scientific and technological innovation.

Suggest to a Friend: